Interview With The Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles (1994)


Interview with a Vampire: Vampire Chronicles

Running Time: 2 hours and 5 Min

Starring- Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise   – Directed by Neil Jordan

Synopsis:

A young writer interviews a man who claims to be a 200 year old vampire. Louis (vampire) tells his story of how he came to be a vampire how Lestat brought him to immortality, learning to deal with his love for life and refusal of killing another human finds Claudia who’s mother died and then she becomes a vampire as well, eventually they get away from Lestat and then  search for how it all came to be.

Ran-Dizzle (Host)

Vampires that don’t Sparkle and yet are not the monster’s that we’ve made them to be, To me this is about the equivalent of vampires that meet Queer eye for the straight guy without glitter, or Blood sucking models. Honestly to me the story is well written, I have yet to read the books I hear they are quiet well written also. Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise and Christian Slater how could this be a bad movie, it even had Antonio Banderas the cast was good and well done, Kirsten Dunst played her role very well and impressed me for a child her age (at the time) to play a vampire that seemed like a woman in her 30’s. I think if it were I would have put Benecio Del Toro as Armand vs. Antonio Banderas but he did well.

To me I think that the story was good, and I feel that there should have been a sequel, I’d love to know what happens later now that Lestat is back does he go after Louis? Also what was the back story to Armand? And whom is the creator of them all? Questions I feel never will be answered.
I still think that this is FAR better then Twilight Saga and always will. I think this movie overall was done well and is a classic that everyone should atleast watch once.

4.5‘s

Big JD

Pitt, Cruise, & Banderas oh my!  I’ve seen this movie many times but first in a way where every second was scrutinized by my critical eye.  I can’t compare this to the book by Anne Rice of which I’ve never read.  I can only give you my opinion of a movie.  A movie of Blood… ha ha ha ha ha… oh.  Eh uhm.  Let’s get on with it.

Interview with a Vampire is a fantastic look at one Vampire’s travel from birth to the current day about what one goes through as a blood sucker.  The others that he’s met and the others that he’s snacked upon.  Overall, it’s the relationship between two Vampires that have lived through the centuries together putting up with each others crap.  If you could live forever you would need a friend to spend it with.  Why not Brad Pitt?  Armand felt the same way.  You’ll see.

Vampire Lestat (Cruise) has gone centuries and runs across Louis (Pitt) and becomes his maker.  He needed a partner.  Was he slightly homosexual or just Victorian.  Maybe he just needed somebody to argue with.  When things went bad in their relationship he did like any pressured spouse would do.  Bring a child into the mix to keep the man around.  Enter Claudia (Dunst) the vicious killer that treats dead women like china dolls.  The whole story is tragic and makes you feel for the “Vampire”.  First time for that I guess.  But, being stuck on this planet as a child is/would be a nightmare.  Overall the script, screenplay, writing in general was awesome.  The costume/wardrobe was top notch.  There wasn’t much wrong with this movie, that I could find anyway.  I felt like this could have been two movies.  This movie was way too long and with it being 2 movies I’m sure more elements of the book could have been included.  Just guessing.

By the second half of the movie we get introduced to “more of their kind”.  Armand (Banderas) brings that global feel that is needed to make you feel that this Vampire thing happens everywhere.  Nowhere is safe.  “Vampires pretending to be humans pretending to be vampires”, “How Avant gard”.  The soundtrack fit the movie in every scene.  It wasn’t spectacular but fit subtlely.  As with all drama’s though there comes the saddest moment.  I think that has to be the death of Claudia.  She died how she was found.  Clutching her mother figure.  Which makes you think, if Louis hates himself and what he does so much then why doesn’t he just watch a sunrise and get it over with.  No, he has to perform an interview in the 90’s.  I’d wait too.

The end leaves you wanting more, but its sad to say that Queen of the Damned doesn’t give you what you are looking for in terms of a satisfying sequel.  Lestat’s there but way different.  And no Cruise so there ya go.  If you need more Lestat and Louis then you should probably read the book.  Sounds like a great idea actually.

Comic Book Movie Plus:  Kirsten Dunst – Sam Raimi Spider-Man Trilogy

Nudity Bonus:  Laure Marsac – Mortal Woman on Stage (1:16:00)(Full), Missy Yager – Creole Woman (50:00)(T)

4.5 ‘s

Willie Good-Cook

-The Big Suprise-

Well for one…I figured Randizzle would pick something like this. For the record, I do not like Anne Rice. Her erotic writing style is very over the top and I was not a fan. This movie carries with it a lot of her style. (Obviously, it is based on her best selling book.) The movie did have a decent cast which worked fairly well together. Though the underlying romance between Lestat and Louis was a little unnerving.  I thought the movie and plot were fairly well done. The sound track was good as well.

My only problem with this movie is that I am not a fan of Anne Rice. Her style of vampires are not shimmering and glistening, but they lack the mystic of Bram Stokers creations. And the wig they have Tom Cruise wear still makes me laugh to this day. He did ok with this part, but I feel that Stuart Townsend(Lestat in Queen of the damned) played it better. Brad Pitt was almost as good in this as he was in Fight club….almost. And the little girl vampire was a nice idea, though again it was a bit disturbing.

I did enjoy the ending. It kind of made the whole thing come together full circle.

– Suggestion-

I am sure you girlfriend, wife, or daughter will love this movie.

 4‘s

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Vampire Movies Of All Time « The Movie Crew
  2. Pingback: So what does Anne Rice think of "Twilight"? « The Twilight Fun Blog
  3. Horror Movie Medication · March 23, 2013

    Great review. You shed some new light on this movie for me. But personally, this movie just didn’t do it for me. The plot lacked direction in general and left me feeling unsatisfied. I will say the vampires were classy and suave, but I don’t think that’s enough to make a compelling movie.

    I also got the chance to review this film on my Horror Movie blog. I could always use some feedback from other critics if you get the chance. But keep up the good work.

    http://horrormoviemedication.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-vampire-vampire.html#view

Leave a comment