Reviewing one movie at a time…

Rock of Ages (2012)


MV5BMTg2NDQyODAzNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTg5MDA3Nw@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USxhXb5VC5E

Starring: Julianne Hough, Diego Boneta, Tom Cruise     – Directed By: Adam Shankman

Running Time: 2hr 5min  – Genre: Musical, Comedy, Drama

 

Ran-Dizzle (Host)

Synopsis:  in 1987 A girl comes from a small country town to Hollywood to become a singer of rock music she meets a boy they fall in love, when fame and situations occur their path has been split and fate steps in and brings everything to light and all wrongs are made right.

Review:

I kind of choose this film because alot of people have come up to me, “Man you really need to watch Rock of Ages…you’ll love it.” I hate to admit it but they were right I had a blast through the whole movie and every song they sang is on my computer, phone, and external hard drive. Anyways back to the movie.

This was a cheesy, campy musical movie for me. The star power was amazing, Brian Cranston, Cathrine Zeta Jones, Tom Cruise, Paul Giamatti, Alec Baldwin, and Russell Brand. But even with the star power it did ok, I mean don’t get me wrong I loved how it was done, but the cheesy goodness of their acting skills came out. I do think Cathrine Zeta Jones played the antagonist very well, “Hit me with your best shot” was done well couldn’t get over the horrible 80’s outfits but it was the 80’s so there ya go.

Alec Baldwin can’t sing very well…I am sorry to say that…not really actually I am not. He didn’t really impress me. However I thought with current events after him “Gay Bashing” and his role he played in the film I thought was kind of Ironic, however he really didn’t stand out to me.

Paul Giamatti plays a slicked back manager very well kind of makes you feel like he’s going to slither his way out like the snake he is so he did a fairly good job.

Russell Brand didn’t have a major part in the movie, but seeing his hairdo and when he sings I could see him playing a young Freddie Mercury like the 70’s Queen Freddie. But as for his role in this part not really major but did a good job none the less.

Rock-of-Ages-600-4001Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta the upcoming stars in this movie do amazing the well with acting and singing, impressed me quite a bit, and Julianne Hough her voice was amazing with the songs she sang.

The story was pretty much cookie cutter though, small town girl coming to big city to make it big, gets lost along her way, travels a dark path to find light at the end of the tunnel, but even the side characters had similar stories. So to me I wouldn’t say it’s original but using the music the way the did and the mash-ups was pretty ingenious.

Overall I loved the movie, however scoring the way we do it doesn’t reflect that but it to me is a must see for family fun, and or musical lovers.

3.5‘s

Kimmay!

Incase you did not know this about me already but I love musicals. Doesn’t really matter what type just as long as the music is good. And the music in Rock of Ages is of course awesome. You can’t really go wrong with the classics.

As for the script, well I can’t say it was all that original. It starts with the girl full of hope going to the big city to pursue her dream of becoming a star, only to wind up a stripper all because the city boy she fell in love with broke her heart. The city boy does get signed to make an album but the agent is so weasley he ends up being a pop-star and not a rock-star. Let us not forget about the Rock God, Stacee Jaxx. He has become so jaded in the world of rock that he has lost sight of what true rock and roll is.

1

The acting was ok. Nothing really stood out to me as spectacular or award winning. But the singing was pretty good and I was impressed with Tom Cruise, I didn’t know he could sing at all. The two main actors, Sherrie Christian and Diego Boneta, both did a fabulous job showing emotions while singing their songs and I did like that. There is nothing worse than dead faces when singing a sad, sad song.  5

The costumes were amazing. Catherine Zeta-Jones outfits are conservatively awful and just make me giggle in delight. But I think they really captured the perceived rock scene of the 80’s.

So the fact that I really love the songs and the acting was at most a lil cheesy I would give this movie a…

3.0 ‘s

 

BIG JD

Should you ever find  yourself in need of watching a 2 hour episode of Glee then pull this movie out of the future 5 dollar bin and give it a go, because what else do you have to do?  Besides pouring sugar all over yourself.

I am obviously not impressed with this movie.  The gimmick just wasn’t enough to pull me in.  The gimmick I speak of is the fact that this is a Rock Ballad musical.  Just like many rock ballad musical’s that came before it ie Rocky Horror Picture Show and others this musical is chalk filled full of covers.  (I find it funny that once Drew got his break Dennis says “3 original songs & no covers!”)  The covers are probably the movies saving grace.  I won’t deny that after I watched this movie I jumped on my Songza app and started listening to 80’s rock playlists.  Then I’m reminded after about 20 minutes that yes, I come from that era but this was not my music of choice. So, needless to say the Soundtrack is decent with a couple skip able musical numbers.

The writing and plot of the entire thing is simplistic to say the least.  I figure that you will watch the movie to hear the songs vs. wanting to see a good story.  There were 4 story lines in the movie.  2 major & 2 minor.  We could have done without both of the minor storylines.  In fact Catherine Zeta-Jones owns the worst musical performance in the movie for me.  Awful.  We get to witness Dennis & Lonny find out who they 2truly are.  That wouldn’t have been so bad if they didn’t get so cheesy with it.  It almost felt insulting or stereotypical during the reveal song of theirs.  Of the two Major story lines the Drew/Sherry yarn was very thin and …well…  ridiculous.  “I saw you pulling your shirt sleeve up and I saw him zipping up his pants.! I ban you from my life!  Now!”  So, passive aggressive it makes me wanna smack Justin Thereoux.  Which is very disappointing because I remember that Justin wrote the Iron Man 2 screenplay and… wait that’s not a good example.  He wrote Tropic Thunder?  Ok, I don’t like him for his writing skill I just think he would make a killer Doctor Strange.  You heard it here first!  As for the other major storyline…

The acting is hard to gauge on this movie.  Only because you can’t really tell if they are trying to be a serious movie or take them selves to the corny side of the camp.  For example Malin Akerman destroy’s any seriousness that the Rock God in love storyline even presents to us.  With 3the facial expressions, tongue in the ear, and Blow up doll face in the end of the movie says it all.  This takes the storyline that I feel holds water in this movie and pisses down its drunken leg.  So, if you want to watch Tom Cruise try to sing or maybe two unknown’s that would do better being in Glee then this is your movie.  Me, I like glee but I usually have to be persuaded to watch it.  This movie will fall into THAT category.

Comic book Connection: Alec Baldwin – The Shadow, Paul Giamatti – Amazing Spider-Man 2

Nudity Bonus:  Nope.

2.0‘s

One response

  1. Pingback: » Movie Review – Chicago (2002) Fernby Films

Leave a Reply

