Reviewing one movie at a time…

Star Trek: Into the Darkness


star-trek-into-darkness-poster

Trailer:

Starring:     – Directed By:

Running Time: 2hr 20min  – Genre:

 

Ran-Dizzle (Host)

Movie Selection Relevance-

I chose this movie mostly cause even though I am not an avid Trekkie, I do like the newer movies.  And I had been wanting to see this movie since in theaters but missed it so now Redbox has it I figured we’d give it a go.

Synopsis:

After exposing themselves to another species the Enterprise is called back for a review once back the discover an unstopable force sending Captain Kirk and his team into a manhunt which leads into war-zone, where it’s a chess game of life or death.

Review:

As much as I was impressed with the first one this one was far more entertaining.

What I loved most about this movie is it follows through with the first one being a worm hole altered time, and as the story continues it’s nice to see the character although have changed basically into an alternate time line still remain very much similar to the previous characters. Spock still remains Spock, but in this movie seeing him expression his emotions when he goes after Harrison (Khan) it is awesome.

Overall the acting remains the same but seems to progress a little. I noticed that Chris Pine has some William Shatner pauses once in a while in the movie. I was originally against Simon Pegg being Scotty…but now seeing him in the roles in both films I’m more the impressed with the way he stays with the character.

The one person whom I did feel kind of mocks his role in the films is Karl Urban. We all know Dr. McCoy has famous lines like “Damnit Jim, I am a Doctor not a _____________” but when he does it maybe it’s just me but it feels a little more like a mockery of the real Dr.McCoy than it is his portrayal. STID5

J.J Abrams impresses me more and more when I watch his stuff, Star Trek will never be the same and I hope he keeps a hand in the projects when the new director comes in, and the cast stays the same because Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto  they have these characters pegged. But going back to J.J. Abrams his ability to morph the new stories into an alternate reality through the worm hole is absolutely amazing, and the fact he’s able to keep Leonard Nimoy makes me happy, even though I am not a trekkie like my dad was.  Like Abrams I am more of a Star Wars fan.

Overall this is a must see for all Trekkies and newer Trekkies to come.

STID1

4.5‘s

Kimmay!

This will probably mostly be a girly take on this movie, because well, I can at times be girly. The reason why I watched the first Star Trek (2009) was because of the actors that played the New Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock. I was more than entertained and fully enjoyed it. I had meant to watch Star Trek: Into the Darkness long before this but kept putting it off. I now regret that decision.

Of course Spock is witty and funny without even meaning too. His comments are dry and to the point in a way that only Spock can manage. Zachary Quinto may not be Leonard Nimoy but I think he makes a decent Spock.  He keeps his face void of emotion even in the scenes that about did me in. His lack of human understanding almost made him more human to me. He tries his best to be Vulcan but at times he does slip and acts a bit more human. Now I have to say that his looks (even with the slanted eyebrows) are still remarkable. (That’s girly moment number one.) But when his emotions do break through and he can not turn them off. Oi, I even had a tear or five to shed. He embraces his friends lack of care for safety to get the mission done.

Now for girly moment number two. Chris Pine..umm…I mean Captain Kirk.. There is hardly anything better than a man with a wild streak a mile wide and a grin to kill. He grows up a bit in this movie while overcoming many challenges and well, life changing events. STID6

The plot seemed to me rather orginal. If I am mistaken and this copies one of the older movies, my bad. While I grew up watching the many different T.V. series, I never did watch the movies. On the note of watching the series, one of the actors, Scott Lawrence, who only had a tiny moment on the Admirals ship, was in one episode of Star Trek: Voyager.

I bet the soundtrack was good but I kept getting caught up in the movie that I forgot to pay attention to. So all I can tell you on that note is that it did not take away from the movie and must have added to the scenes.

So for hottie factor and just plain liking this movie I give Star Trek Into Darkness…

4.0 ‘s

 

BIG JD

As a Star Wars fan I cannot say that I was ever impressed with any of the prior Star Trek films prior to 2009.  So, when I say that I liked this movie is a big step in the right direction.  It also shows that JJ Abrams has not only made a good film but he has made the Star Trek universe interesting and very entertaining to me.

I think the best part of this movie for me (and the franchise for that matter) is that JJ Abrams has kept the original movies canon in tact and still viable and still able to create new exciting stories.  This is a challenge at anytime for any filmmaker building on the success of other movies in a franchise but he succeeded with ONE wormhole in the 2009 movie.  Wormholes solve everything.  I like the fact that they brought back “old” Spock for this movie.  For some reason he gives the movie credibility and a certain emotion attached to the Kahn character.  Although the timeline’s have separated the old Spock knows what kind of man Kahn (Harrison) is because they dealt with him in the movie Star Trek: The Wrath of Kahn.  It makes me want to go back and re-watch that movie.  There are some similarities between the two movies proving that you can’t change fate but, I’ll let you figure those out for yourself.  I’ll give you the first one.  Spock, Kirk, Radiation… nuff said.STID7

I could do without the new timeline relationship of Ohura & Spock.  It just seemed like their banter between each other is forced and really unnecessary.  Plus, it makes me wonder… What “event” would make those two come together?  A wormhole and life threatening situations?  I don’t think so.  And having the Tribble scene be the one thing that saves Kirk’s life is kind of planted in there a bit too obviously.  I’m ok though because… well, you’ll see at the end of the review.

Some small issues I had start with the following:  How did Harrison get a ship that close to Starfleet command war-room without setting off any security red flags in a stolen ship?  You know that Pike will die In that scene.  You know because Cpt. Kirk lost the bridge of his ship, it wasn’t too concerning because you know he’ll have the ship back before the movie ends.  It was just a matter of piecing it together beforehand.  And yes, I figured that out as soon as I saw the first explosion in the war-room.  Also, the new Athletic and Very Agile & Strong Spock.  I’m kinda torn on him.  I like the fact that he’s way more exciting but still I don’t feel it’s in his character to be the way he is now.  And him running is hilarious with his haircut flopping in the breeze.STID4

I like the exploration of new planets/creatures.  Kind of expected in this movie but, It gives the movie visual set pieces that keep you intrigued.  I hope in future movies we see more creatures instead of having random alien officers on the ship spout out unnecessary nonsense.  And I would like to add as a side-note.  Alice Eve in this movie was great.  Even though her character was a total plot device.  She was originally up for the Emma Frost role in X-Men: First Class.  I think she would have nailed that role.  I mean, this movie proves that she looks good in lingerie.

I liked this movie a lot due to some very small issues that I can just attribute to writing.  So if you weren’t a fan before give this movie a shot and I guarantee you’ll love it.  It will in fact make you want to know more about the Star Trek universe and that is very promising for Star War fans come 2015.

Oh, I didn’t forget.  Tribble’s rule.

Comic book Connection:  Zoe Saldana- Guardians of the Galaxy,

Nudity Bonus:  n/a

4.50‘s

4 responses

  1. I loved this! What do you think for the prospects of a third movie?

    November 7, 2013 at 5:37 am

    • They don’t have a director set as of yet but the odds are very good that a third one is already being positioned and in development. I’m going to make a guess and say 2016.

      November 8, 2013 at 6:17 am

      • Great! Good enough for me 🙂 Great review.

        November 8, 2013 at 9:48 am

  2. Pingback: Getting to Know the Beast Within Kirk | THE EXTREMIS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

