Blade II (2002)


Trailer: Blade II (2002)

Starring: Wesley Snipes, Kris Kristofferson, Ron Perlman  – Directed By: Guillermo del Toro

Running Time: 1 hrs & 57 mins – Genre: Action, Horror, Sci-Fi

 

Big JD (Host)

Synopsis:  Blade is in search of his father figure after he was taken by Vampires.  After finding him he is propositioned by the council of Vampires to help them defeat a New breed of vampire.  This Reaper Vampire is stronger and more deadly but most of all he feeds on Vampires.  So, why would Blade help his enemy?

Review:

I wanted to choose this movie this week with Guillermo Del Toro’s Pacific Rim now in theatres.  Most people would say that Hellboy was his claim to fame but this movie was made just before that.  His first comic book based movie helped him cut his teeth but still shows that his love is first and foremost Monsters.

With better production than the original movie you can definitely tell a difference.  It’s brighter and more visual effects.  Visual effects that come off as very noticeable.  Back in 2002 I’m sure it was top notch but now it’s very Video game’y in places.  I couldn’t be talking about visual effects if I didn’t speak about the fight scenes.  The fight scenes with Wesley Snipes are fantastic.  It’s something that is very much missed in films of today.  His martial arts’ training really shines through.  Probably my favorite part of this movie.  Although his last fight scene with all of the vampire troopers with electric batons gave me serious flashbacks of Snipes in Demolition Man.

I love this movie but still had issues with certain aspects.  I never have liked Kris Kristofferson playing Whistler.  I don’t know.  I think it’s probably just me but, he always seems like a whiny old man that annoys the heck out of me.  Scud played by Norman Reedus is equally annoying in this movie.  Every scene has him smokin’ a cigarette and just being a young annoying kid that thinks he knows everything.  Including betrayal.  But he gets his in the end.  Some of the bloodpack members where just there and didn’t do anything for the story.  Ron Perlman was a joy to see.  I’m curious if this is what sold Del Toro on Perlman playing Hellboy?  His relationship with Blade was fun to watch.

With Vampires being led by Blade to kill these Reaper Vampires is one thing.  But when the Vampires don’t act like vampires at all?  I mean, the special ops team acted more human than superhuman vampire.  They have all of these acrobatic powers and strength but yet they all stayed very well grounded and even had troubles trying to turn a knob on a “bomb”.  With having super speed didn’t really play much into this special lame team.

I’m glad they continued to show different parts of the country (Prague) which stays true to the Blade character.  He’s all over the place.  The reason these movies have really succeeded was because they used a character that didn’t have much comic book history.  Just from the pages of “Tomb of Dracula” and a couple mini series here and there but not much.  This allowed them the freedom to make a really great character.  Some of that is owed to David S. Goyer.  Yes that’s right, the guy that wrote this movie is also famous for penning The Batman Trilogy, Man of Steel, Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, Blade, Blade III, and finally his worst comic book TV movie was Nick Fury: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.  So, he has had some experience with the source material and its just too bad that he’s finally coming into his own now in 2013 instead of 2002.  I guess you can say that he “cut his teeth” on Blade just as Guillermo did.

 

Comic Book Movie Plus: Wesley Snipes: Blade Franchise – Ron Perlman: Hellboy franchise, Thomas Kretschmann: Wanted – Luke Goss: Hellboy II, Kris Kristofferson: Blade Franchise – Karel Roden: Hellboy

Nudity Bonus:  Not today.

 

3.0‘s

Ran-Dizzle

 This to me is probably the better acting and interesting story of the Blade trilogy.

Acting wise the casting was done rather well, it was nice seeing Norman Reedus in the movie as a Boondock Saints fan he did very well in this role, but his character

actually shocked me in this movie, but no spoilers for me. Wesley Snipes invented Blade…I really can’t see anyone else now play the role of Blade, Ron Pearlman to me his acting never changes he’s just a bad ass that gets to wear prosthetic make up in certain roles (Hell Boy)Kris Kristofferson played his Whistler role, but to me honestly they should have left him out in the first movie.  Danny John-Jules for you Sci-Fi (British) fans would know him as The Cat from Red Dwarf so it’s interesting to see someone from that TV series eventually made a way out and in to Hollywood.

The Story was decent, very much Underworld story style to me so not very original but enjoyable.  The CGI fights were noticeable but for 2002 it wasn’t horrible, X-Men was far worse with the CGI then this was. Not that I don’t mind watching Wesley Snipes kicking some ass but his martial arts in this movie was a little much although for the action scenes they did well..The one liners weren’t overly cheesy but could have been better.

Overall I don’t mind the movie, and again not a Blade comic book fan but what I do know the character stays true to form which is rare anymore in Hollywood Comic Book movies. I enjoyed the movie however it’s not at the top of my list of must watch comic book films. However it is above Green Lantern 😀 *JAB at Ryan Reynolds*


3.0‘s

 

Leave a comment