Reviewing one movie at a time…

Cloud Atlas (2012)


Trailer: Cloud Atlas (2012)

Starring: Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugo Weaving  – Directed By: Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski & Lana Wachowski

Running Time: 2 hrs & 52 mins – Genre: Adventure, Drama, Sci-Fi

 

Big JD (Host)

 

Synopsis:  The Wachowski Siblings & Tom Tykwer take you on a journey that spans across time.  From the very distant past to the very distant future we get a look at what binds us together.  The theory that all people do not live their own lives but coupled together with reincarnation we all are bound together tasked to find one another and to be together forever.  Not just in this life but in future lives to come.

Review:

First and foremost I would like to say that if you are not a fan of having to follow every second of a movie and thinking how it all fits together then this is not the movie for you.  If you enjoy dissecting each scene with the precision of a surgeon and then discussing it in length after the movie is finished then this may be your movie.  I however fall about in the middle of that.  I like to scrutinize movies yet, I finding anything really to discuss here is beyond me.  This movie confused the hell out of me.  From beginning to end I understood everyone’s role, but when it came to fitting them together it left me with extra parts.  Just like putting together a bicycle I refuse to think they just put in the extra filler just because they thought you may lose other parts.

I understand the Adam Ewing/Tilda & Hae-Joo Chang/Sonmi-451 connection played by Jim Sturgess/Doona Bae.  I get the Zachry/Meronym & Dr. Henry Goose/Luisa Rey connection played by Tom Hanks/Halle Berry but what I don’t get is the entire composer sidestory along with the old man that is a story writer storline.  Each character timeline has a character in it that bears a specific birth mark.  Yes, and I even understand that it symbolizes its that one life that repeats itself.  But they don’t even keep the birthmark to actors/storylines or anything relevant.  It seems pretty random.  The only thing I can figure out is the one that bears the birthmark is the lead character in that specific timeline.

As for having the actors play their other period counter pieces, I was fine with that.  What I found unnecessary was that they also played random other characters as well.  It seemed to mess the with underlying “meaning” of what each character meant in the whole scheme of things.  Maybe having Tom Hanks play the Motel owner or Thug meant something more but, it was something that went over my head.  Halle Berry has been disappointing me as of late.  Maybe it was the Catwoman movie or maybe it was Gothika…  could be her lackluster portrayal of Storm that has ruined her for me.  I don’t know.  She was merely “fine” in this movie.  Nothing special.  Sorry Miss Berry.

Subtitles in the most distant future.  Not the future but the “way way” future.  That is definitely True True.  It sounded like the unofficial Jar-Jar Binks Future Timeline.  Very Scary.  I missed half of the dialogue because I couldn’t understand what they were saying.  Couple that with a random figure that only appeared to Zachry that seemed to be from New Orleans?  Very weird and random.  I would like to touch on the makeup artists real quick.  Where they students?  It seemed the makeup/prosthetics were very low class.  I won’t dig too much but very noticeable.  Especially the woman with the dead dog.

In the end the entire movie was “ok” but very confusing.  It had a very original thought behind it.  That we are all connected and that we don’t live our separate lives but destined to repeat our past lives in some way or another.  With 3 director’s though it felt like we were going in many different directions.  That was very distracting.  The Wachowski’s Plus One need to work on their craft and make things that don’t convolute or confuse the audience.  Final thought:  Watch it if you have 3 hours to waste.

Comic Book Movie Plus: Hugo Weaving – Captain America: The First Avenger, Halle Berry – X-men Franchise, Catwoman

Nudity Bonus:  n/a

3.50‘s

Ran-Dizzle

 This is probably the most interesting movie I’ve seen in awhile. To me the most creative way about it, is involving not only different stories being combined but through time from the past to the future. So to me the originality was very impressive. I am not one for much Sci-fi stoies (with the exception of Star Wars of course.)

The acting in this movie was superb, seeing more then one actor/actress playing several roles through time telling the stories, no one really stood out because everyone was that good. With this all-star cast how can you compare the acting and stories.
Although I have my favorite story segments in this movie, you cannot really compare acting by the stories or by the actors as they are all very talented.

The Special effects were done well as was the Music although nothing really to stand out on it’s own but to me when everything blends so well makes a better movie then having bits and pieces stand out.

Overall this movie kept me very entertained, and interesting stories that intertwined the pace of the movie jogged along at a decent speed even though it was a fairly lengthy movie you don’t really notice how much time has passed, however this is a movie you need to keep 100% of your focus on it, or you miss out. A Must see in my book.


5.0‘s

 

2 responses

  1. For a confusing movie, the characters were absolutely splendid! It really goes to show you how talented Tom Hanks, Halle Berry and Hugo Weaving truly are to be able to flip like that.

    June 26, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  2. Pingback: Cloud Atlas (2012) | timneath

Leave a Reply

