Reviewing one movie at a time…

Iron Man 2 (2010)


MV5BMTM0MDgwNjMyMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTg3NzAzMw@@._V1_SX214_

Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Mickey Rourke

Director: Jon Favreau

Ran-Dizzle-

To me this is probably out of the 3 (Yes the third one is out now in theaters) The weaker of the 3 movies. I say that because there are some areas that were questionable, but for a sequel not bad..I’ve seen worst sequels but out of the 3 I would say this is probably the weaker one. First of all before going into the review it’s almost impossible for a sequel to better the first movie. (Yes, it has been done before but those movies are better left unsaid at this point due to we will more then likely review them at a later date.)So in all fairness it’s not a bad movie, just could have been done a little better.

Demon in a bottle-

To me most of the story comes from this part in the comics of the Demon in a bottle, Tony Stark is in a self destructive pattern, but it’s because the very thing that is keeping him alive is also killing him. What would you do if you were about to die? I thought about that a lot while watching this movie especially since I recently had something in personal life come close to that point. So that’s one of the reason’s I chose this movie and the other was we did Iron Man last, and Iron Man 3 was coming out at the time of my pick. I think that is what I like most about this part of the movie is showing what it’s like to cope with the inevitable to try and find a solution but while doing that you set your life in a tailspin…because your to busy focused at the problem vs the solution. The story line in this movie was done decent to follow what I’ve read and known about Demon in the bottle saga of Iron Man comics so I was very happy with that.

As for acting…There is no one else but R.D.J as Tony Stark, DO YOU HEAR ME MARVEL….NO ONE ELSE Can portray Tony like Robert Downey, Jr. Has. Gwyneth Paltrow as always plays a decent Pepper Potts…=425.Iron.Man.Howard.042309No more Terrance Howard now we have Don Cheadle, I really think that this was a bad movie switching the WarMachine. Not saying Don is bad actor, but I didn’t get the feeling of a soldier, or Rhodey from Don like I did from Terrance Howard. A lot of people disagree with me on this (JD) but that’s fine because this is my review and well…I just wasn’t feeling it, Another disappointment was Mickey Rourke. Mickey felt like a fish out of water, maybe it’s all those Botox injections in his face that makes it harder for him to act I don’t know but seriously I didn’t feel Anton Vanko from him, more like a Russian Hacking Thug…not a brilliant physicist.

Overall I would say this is a good movie to watch but not completely with best option of the 3 movies that are now out. (You need to go see Iron Man 3…must see this summer!)

4.0‘s

Big JD-

As much as this movie gets touted as the worst Marvel Movie in the series of the latest movies let me be the one to tell you that it isn’t as bad as people make it out to be.  There are problems with some of the casting and general WTF moments but it’s a really good movie.  www.rottentomatoes.com gives it a 73% critic rating with a 80% audience rating so it proves to be excellent.

Again, Robert Downey Jr. proves to be the right man inside the suit.  He is Iron Man.  Just as he says at the end of the first movie and it re-iterated at the beginning of this one.  Gwyneth Paltrow gives a solid performance as the “glorified secretary” of Tony Stark turned to CEO of Stark Industries.  New to the franchise is Don Cheadle playing James Rhodes.  After seeing his portrayal of Rhodey its something I can live with.  I liked Terrence Howard but Don does well in the role.  At times a better choice.  Seeing War Machine was definitely a highlight of this movie.  Even though we don’t get much from him I can deal with it.Iron_Man_2_21  Sam Rockwell as Justin Hammer although 20 years too young he is a delight to watch.  His jealousy of Stark is well shown and I gotta say, Sam can dance.  Yeah, I said it.  He’s got moves.  Seriously he played the calm business man well as well as the angry tyrant.  Very believable.  Speaking of “Believable”…  This brings me to Mickey Rourke as Whiplash.  Whiplash in comic history is derived from the character Blacklash which was created in 1981 by Stan Lee.  This current Whiplash (Anton Vanko) was created in 2009 by Erik Larsen.  Which has been curious to me why this Anton Vanko is also the name of the very first Crimson Dynamo.  Maybe that is why he appears in a robotic suit in the end?  Would make more sense though if it were Crimson.  I did notice that the facemask was very similar to Whiplash’s.  Even though he wore it for like a total of 2 minutes max.  Was it that important to see Roarke’s face?  I just didn’t buy Mickey Roarke as a physicist.  A criminal yes.  Smart no.  Justin Theroux wrote him to be very smart.  They proved it many times.  “Can I get some encrypted passwords over here!”  It just didn’t sit with me.  As a criminal he proved that he can somehow be hit by a car multiple times and also endure a blast that takes out a living room with no face protection.  And his face was still on his skull.  imagesAmazing.  Just as amazing as what they made Scarlett Johansson out to be.  She is to Avengers as Megan Fox was to Transformers.  Eye Candy.  Not once in this movie does she give me the feeling of Black Widow.  All of her speaking lines were awkward.  She had perfectly crinkled hair.  She did not have a Russian accent.  (Was there too much Russian in this movie already?)  Her action scenes were great.  Jumping around and head locking people with her legs and flinging them around like rag dolls.  But, Black Widow is sultry, & a trained assassin.  You can just see it in her eyes.  You don’t F with her.  Scarlett’s portrayal?  Yeah, not even close.  Although she does get better in the Avengers movie this is her start and it didn’t hit the mark for me.  Her awkwardness in this role is enough for me to take off a half a star.

This movie hits on point when action is the topic.  There are many scenes that have you sucked in to the moment.  Justin Theroux did well with the writing duties weaving Vanko into a family history as well as setting up for more Avengers Initiative easter eggs.  They took a mix of the old with the new from comic history.  Jon Favreau not only played a good Happy Hogan he directed his second Iron Man very well.  Having Tony Stark being killed by the very thing that is saving his life is a great idea.  They pulled it off.  AC/DC helps add excitement and self titled coolness to the film.  So, as a sequel goes I thought it was a good one.  Wait till you see the third.

425.downeyjr.johansson.ironman2.lc.072209

4.0‘s

Leave a Reply

