Reviewing one movie at a time…

Iron Man (2008)


Trailer: Iron Man (2008)

Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Terrence Howard, Jeff Bridges  – Directed By: Jon Favreau

Running Time: 2 hrs & 6 mins – Genre:  Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi

Big JD (Host)

Synopsis:

Billionaire Industrialist Tony Stark is a weapons manufacturer like his father before him.  The accolades came easy until Tony was captured by the same people that had his weapons and was forced to make them one of Tony’s most remarkable weapon of all.  The Jericho.  With his back against the wall he chooses not to make their weapon but something that will define his life for years to come.

Review:

Iron Man was the first movie created under the Marvel Studio’s banner.  It is a day & night difference when you have the actual publisher/studio creating their superhero movie.  Why?  Because they understand the characters.  They treat them with respect.  Of course there will be liberties taken, but in the end what makes each person who they are is still retained and the fans have a great movie.  I think the casting was the most intregal part of this movie.  Robert Downey Jr. nailed it as Tony Stark.  He is Tony.  I couldn’t imagine anyone else playing the part.  Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts was equally great.  Jeff Bridges played Obadiah Stane which was curious for me at first but I think I like Jeff playing a bad guy.  Terrence Howard did well with James “Rhodey” Rhodes.  I felt he may have been too “sensitive” at times but I would have been fine with him continuing the part.

I’m glad they updated the origin story.  It would have been very dated if he would have gone back to Vietnam like the source material suggests.  Even more dated than Tony speaking to a soldier saying “I don’t want this (pic) on your MySpace page.”  I’m glad they included Yensin.  Even the Mark I was clunky and everything.  Although it was destroyed shortly thereafter.  In the comics he adapted that Mark I and turned it Gold.  Hence the nickname The Golden Avenger.  After that the suit became more refined.  Although the suits don’t follow the same release pattern as the books each one is so great that I don’t know if it really matters.  The Mark III is what is used primarily in the movie.  Inputting “The 10 Rings” into the movie is sort of an easter egg.  Things to come you might say.  Obviously referring to The Mandarin’s 10 Rings that he wears.  The writing was great.  The soundtrack has you locked in immediately from the AC/DC intro.  Throughout the entire movie, the only thing I didn’t agree with was the announcement at the very end of the movie.  “I Am Iron Man”.  I felt that they didn’t give the Tony Stark character enough time with his Body Guard persona.  I was always a problem for Tony for many, many years.  Yet it was solved in one movie.  I am ok with the decision but, I felt there was a lot to explore that was missed out on.

The suit was amazing.  Couldn’t ask for better.  Even Iron Monger was good.  A bit clunky but very true to the source material.  Having Jarvis as a “computer intelligence” was offputting for me at first but, I couldn’t imagine things working out any better.  In the comic books Jarvis was Tony’s butler.  I’m glad they went the AI route due to this movie releasing the same time as Return of the Dark Knight.  Since Bruce Wayne already has the “butler” thing covered it would have seemed like they were duplicating the Batman series.  So, when in doubt make the Butler a computer intelligence system that will give you anything your heart desires.  The Pepper & Happy dynamic wasn’t much explored but it is in fact a bit early for that.  We will dogear that conversation for another sequel review.

Obadiah Stane was a good choice for villain.  Someone that stood close to Tony & his father for many years.  We get to see why he turns against Tony.  I really wish Jeff Bridges didn’t do the TRON sequel because everytime I see this movie I think of that one.

In summation, this was a great movie standalone.  It was the benchmark and beginning of the Marvel Cinematic Universe with the introduction of S.H.I.E.L.D and Nick Fury. (After credits).  Also, it started the trend with the After Credits scenes.  Now you got people sitting through the entire credits just to see the scene that may tease other movies.  Other studio’s are taking note and doing the same.  (etc. Green Lantern, Evil Dead…)  The most exciting thing is that this isn’t only a movie about one character.  It falls within an ongoing universe that contains “others”.  Just like in the comics there is always room for a team up.  This end scene sets up The Avengers and it had me completely and utterly excited.  I’m sure it was like that for everyone.

Oooh, wait!  I forgot about the flub that I caught.  After Tony gets back in the states he asks Happy to grab a cheeseburger.  They get to the press conference, Tony gets out of the limo finishing up A cheeseburger and Happy extends to him a Burger King bag with One more cheeseburger in it.  Tony Takes it.  Obadiah says “you got one for me?”  Tony says “No, there’s only one left”.  Next scene shows Tony walking into the press conference and he is taking the last bites of his cheeseburger and then pops the last bite in his mouth.  Then he gets into the conference, goes up by the podium sits down and begins to open his “last cheeseburger”.  The one that he already ate walking in.  I call this the Everlasting Cheeseburger Mistake.

 

4.50‘s

Ran-Dizzle

My Marvel knowledge is a little shakey with Iron Man, even though he’s a major staple in The Avenger’s and has been for years, I never really got invovled in his story line, until this movie. I was in the through process of here is another Marvel Movie that will be decent or have a decent shot then it will be flushed down the toliet. Boy was I ever so happy to be wrong.

At First I didn’t think that RDJ was going to be good enough to be Tony Stark, I mean he wasn’t as tall as what I think Tony is in the comics or atleast portrayed to be, and his acting has been kind of hit or miss in the last few years, but this changed everything for me, (Well this and Tropic Thunder) I grew to be a bigger fan of RDJ then I thought, as well as an Iron Man fan. Over all the casting done for this movie did shock and awe me, so I am glad this movie was done the way it was.

Gwyneth Paltrow did a great job as Pepper Potts, I did some research on her right before watching this for the first time in Mexico when it came out in theaters. (Yeah all the good Marvel Movies I saw in Mexico on vacation) her acting and love interest that was but wasn’t there with Tony was ok, but I was hoping to see more of Pepper and Happy, and while on the subject I know that Jon Favreau was playing Happy Hogan, and portrays him well, but you’d think he’d have more lines then “You did lose me, Sir” I mean if Mel Brooks can direct a movie and have several speaking parts why can’t Jon Favreau?

Overall the writing was done exceptionally well, I like how they took it out of the past and made it modern day and even brought in the 10 rings, and I hope to learn more about that this weekend with Iron Man 3 😀 (Oh yes there is a Count Down Clock going for this movie I am so excited I can’t wait!!)

Again Marvel succeeded to me, nothing really stood out to me other then what I mentioned above, and I am happy they continue to impress and wow me.

5.0‘s

Leave a Reply

