Reviewing one movie at a time…

Unforgiven (1992)


Unforgiven (1992)

Running Time: 2 hrs 11 min – Western

Starring: Clint Eastwood, Gene Hackman, & Morgan Freeman – Directed by Clint Eastwood

Willie Good-Cook (host)

-Synopsis-

Retired gunslinger William Munny (Clint Eastwood) is spurred back into action when a bounty is set on men who cut up a women in a brothel. With the allure of money to help feed his two kids, Munny decides to try to collect the bounty with the help of The Schofield Kid and Ned logan (Morgan Freeman), another retired gunslinger.  With multiple groups of men trying to collect the bounty, will Munny be able to find them men in time, or will he die in the process?

-Review-

First, I want to say BigJD is a BIGLIAR!! That being said, I chose this movie because I was trying to pick something a little outside the box. This movie has a stellar cast. Gene Hackman plays a great sheriff bent on keeping his town clean and gun free. Clint Eastwood plays his usual cowboy style and Morgan Freeman was very good as well. The plot and story were nothing new or special but it was easy to follow and interesting.  The tiny bit of comedy they did throw in had me laughing as well.

My one fault with this movie was the score, or lack there of. This movie was devoid of music for the most part and when they did finally decide to throw some in it sucked. I would rather listen to elevator music all day than the soundtrack to this movie. What is really sad is that the guy who did the music for this movie has done many other movies and yet some how when he got to this one he was like, “Hmmm lets try something new and different. Lets make the music not match the movie what so ever!”

The movie over all was a pretty good pick I must say. Being a person who doesn’t like many Westerns (Tombstone and Maverik only!) I did enjoy this movie.  The ending was good as well. At first I thought this was Eastwood’s first foray into directing, but JD informed me he had been doing it for 20 years prior to this movie(1971 “Play Misty for Me“).  So I guess he has had a bit of practice at directing and staring in movies by that point, either way I am very glad I picked this movie. It gave me a new appreciation for westerns.

-Suggestions- Rent this one when you have a bit of free time. At 2 hours and 11 minutes your ass may fall asleep!

4.5‘s

Big JD

Clint Eastwood has directed some great movies during his directorial career.  This movie is in no doubt the beginning of that great stretch he has had.  Although he has been directing since 1971 so, that opinion could be argued that his stretch had already began.

The all-star cast with this 1992 Western can only help this movie if anything.  Acting wasn’t even a problem when you got the likes of Eastwood, Freeman, Hackman all in the same movie.  I thought that maybe the only actor that was lacking in the “acting” department was “The Scholfield Kid”.  I guess when your acting opposite of Morgan Freeman & Clint Eastwood you really don’t have a chance.

Something else that didn’t have a chance was the score.  I thought it could have been much better than what it turned out to be.  I thought it lacked depth in tone at times.  It felt like it was recorded in a basement somewhere.  Maybe it’s just me but there was a montage scene that I felt was so bad, lead by the cheesy music.  Although Lennie Niehaus did this score, he has done many of Eastwood’s movies.  I guess you can’t go wrong with who you know.

I thought the whole plot was an overused one at best.  I’ve seen it so many times.  Especially with action-type actors that are getting older in age.  The main character is now a family man but yearns to do what he did back in his youth.  He takes one more “job” to get those old feelings back but yet realizes that the old life isn’t for him and he just decides to move on from there.  Classic storyline but it usually goes like “Ok, just one more job… then I’m out”.

With that being said there wasn’t much wrong with this movie.  Directed well, acting was excellent, and we got classic Clint Eastwood being all weak and stuff until the end of the movie when he decides to pop open his can of spinach and get buck wild.  Ok, replace the spinach with a bottle of whiskey.  Gene Hackman as a cowboy kinda threw me off at first but I got use to it fairly quick.  So, if you’re in the mood for a Western with great acting then this is for you.

Sidenote: I would really love to see a prequel of this movie encompassing the Beauty & The Beast aspect of how Eastwood’s character meets and falls in love with his wife and how she changes him.

Comic Book Movie Plus – Gene Hackman: Superman, Superman II, Superman IV: The Quest For Peace – Morgan Freeman: The Dark Knight Trilogy, Wanted

4‘s

Randizzle

To me this movie is one of Clint Eastwood’s better westerns, It was nice to see Morgan Freeman in this movie too, It was a pretty big cast for the 90’s movies and was well done. And yes I even have it on Laser Disc.

What I liked about this story it kind of makes you think a little bit about how they dealt with issues like domestic violence back then, I don’t think I would shoot a man for cutting up a woman’s face but I think I would give him a few cuts himself you know “Eye for an Eye” kind of thing. However for a movie it was a little cookie cutter western in my eyes, Cowboys did something wrong, now some vigilante that was a bad ass decides to put his spurs on and kick ass again, But there isn’t much of a western that isn’t like that.

In this movie I think the casting was done fairly well, of course Gene Hackman did very well as a tough sheriff, and Clint Eastwood always has that mild toned kick ass guy, Morgan Freeman kind of stepped out of his genre for this movie and did very well, again…I’ve not seen a movie with Morgan Freeman I didn’t like.. Overall the special effects and directing was done well especially when your one of the main characters and directing…pretty good.

Nice to see Will step out of his Heist movies and into something different. (At least I pick good movies Mr Rocknrolla/Broken Flower! @Goodcooknation!)

3‘s

For those of you who saw the movie, what did you think?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The Last Challenge/The Pistolero of Red River (1967) « timneath

  2. Amanda Diaz

    how come no one ever mentions the actor that plays quick mike or his partner in the movie?

    May 20, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    • I would have to go back and watch it to remember this guy. That’s probably the reason exactly. He played a part that wasn’t that memorable for viewers.

      May 27, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Leave a Reply

