Reviewing one movie at a time…

Stark Raving Mad (2002)


Stark Raving Mad

Stark Raving Mad (2002)

Running Time: 1 hr 41 min – Action, Comedy, Crime

Starring Seann William Scott – Directed by Drew Daywalt & David Schneider

Willie Good-Cook (Host)

–Synopsis–

In this comedy/heist movie Ben (Seann William Scott) plans to pay off his brothers debt to platinum haired villain Gregory (Lou Diamond Phillips). He plans to rent out a club and drill through the basement into the bank next door. The plan goes very awry and Ben must think on his feet to keep things from falling apart. Even the two under cover FBI agents wont deture him from making this happen.

-Review-

I was very surprised by how few people had seen this movie. It actually went straight to dvd (Sad face.) Another underground hit for you guys. (Your welcome.) There were a couple short comings. I felt Lou Diamond Phillips was not the most intimidating of bad guys. The saving grace was Sean William Scott and his idiot partner Ricky. This movie was a decently original thought but some of the premises didn’t work for me. How did they keep the decibels above that point the whole time? How dumb are FBI agents? Why does Gregory let him finish drilling without going to watch it?

This movie has many good quotables as well. “What the Fu#$ is a fortune fish?” “DJ Fu– you it is.” The plot was good as well as directing and story. This was one of those movie you can’t really find much wrong with but at the same time you can’t find anything they did outstandingly well.

-Suggestions- Give it a chance. You will like it. Or Randizzle will give you your money back.

‘s

Big JD

Bank Robbers come in many different shapes and sizes.  Attitudes, Personalities and even Seann William Scott styles.  Keep this in mind.  The beginning scene had me into this movie from the get go.  I mean, anyone that flips off a wild-eyed lion to his face has the respect of me to give them my attention for at least 30 minutes.

This movie is what would happen to Ferris Bueller if he had gone down the wrong path and became a bank Robber.  There are any similarities between the two movies.  Obviously Ben (Seann William Scott) would be playing Ferris.  The man with all the answers.  Constantly talking to the audience in a fashion that made me want to smack the remote out of his hand and yell out “Stop pausing the movie! And stop talking’!!”.  Playing the part of Cameron is no other than the lousy sidekick Ricky (Timm Sharp).  Loser-ville is where he resides but in great fashion comes through one time in an awesome speech that reveals a “Title Drop!”  Who was Ferris’s arch nemesis?  Principal Rooney.  Played by the part by Gregory (Lou Diamond Phillips).  Always into Ben’s business and never trusting what he is saying.  Yeah, it’s a stretch but hey I’m trying to make a connection here!  Wait, go back to Gregory.  Oh, Lou Diamond Phillips why did you agree to this part?  I thought he looked ridiculous and I never bought the fact he was a bad guy.  Was he supposed to be asian?  It just came off crummy.  I think it was the white wig of intimidation.

With any bank robber movie you gotta have good crew.  Kinda like The Movie Crew ™ but with less drugs, Epilepsy, and Asian-ness.  The introduction to these characters drove me crazy.  Again with the Remote Ben!  Give it!  I thought they all fit together pretty chaotically well.  I was trying to figure out what the nerdy Jeffrey (Patrick Breen) had to bring to the table and I was right… Not much.  I swear this guy could play the part of the Taxi-Robot from the original Total Recall movie.  “Next Stop, Straight to DVD!”.   Jake reminded of someone who would show up In a Kevin Smith movie.  I don’t know if it was the acting or the weed but that was my impression.  Betty was a Margaret Cho character that didn’t have the “funny” of you guessed it, Margaret Cho.  Put them together with a dash of Chinese Delivery Guy and you got a pretty decent group.  Even though real life would have eaten their lunch, we’re talking movies here.

Most of everything I took with a grain of salt.  Everything except for 2 FBI agents taking down 2 crime gangs that were having a stand down.  It just didn’t seem believable.  Maybe because the old “Kids In The Hall” star Dave Foley was acting like an FBI agent?  Or maybe it was just me.  I didn’t buy it.

The movie ends with a style that heavily reminded me of “Risky Business” for some reason.  I think it was the whole Narration over the stylized music and the relieving feeling of “everything’s gonna be all right”.  But mostly it had to be the music.  Speaking of the soundtrack… I’m not a fan of club music but in this movie the music played a part in the storyline making the music play an important role.

When the movie is finished it all comes down to whether I liked it or not.  There wasn’t anything special about this movie.  I never laughed out loud but I did chuckle to myself a couple of times.  There were some funny moments but they were subtle and I really don’t know if it was on purpose.  It had Nothing great, and nothing horrible.  Although It had an ending I’m fine with, I couldn’t help but feel that it was thrown together or rushed to a finish.  It wouldn’t be a bad thing to watch this if it was given to you… or watched it streaming on Netflix like I did.

Comic Book Movie Bonus:  Patrick Breen: Men In Black.  Not much of a bonus but hey you get what you get!

Nudity Bonus:  Natassia Malthe – Stacie (17:00)(A)

‘s

Ran-Dizzle

For me I completely understand why this is a direct to DVD movie. As it is a Heist movie and I am a sucker for those style of movies I felt a little robbed in this one. Seann William Scott Playing Ben was interesting, I only knew 3 people in the movie, Seann William Scott, Lou Diamond Phillips, David Foley. (Anyone else pick up that to two major characters in this film have 3 names?? Coincidence?)

The Storyline I think had some potential but was thrown together to quick, and the Autistic Thief just topped it for me, However I think I want to try and find a Fortune Fish for work now. It was worth a watch but glad I didn’t spend any money on this, Did like the final setup though very talented however just kind of felt a little out of place.

Soundtrack was ok, I think good choice but then again I am not a raver so I can’t really critique it’s choice, but I do know that it fit for a rave in the movie. Disappointed I didn’t see any club kids doing any kind of light dance with lights on strings, unless I missed some.

To me it’s kind of like the put “Go” and “Ocean’s 11” together with a mediocre cast. Didn’t buy the FBI Special Agents…they were completely out of place to me, and the Delivery guy what the hell??…. And for the way they did the explaining by talking to the audience, I don’t like to be spoon fed like that…Right Willie Good Cook?

Still better then Ghost Rider:Spirit of Vengeance though.

2.5‘s

For Those that have seen this movie.  What did you think?

Leave a Reply

